Masaaki OhkoshiThe award was founded in 1995 for the best clinical study on the subject of urinary tract infections published during a two-year period. The first three awards were sponsored by Professor Masaaki Ohkoshi and all subsequent awards have been sponsored by the Japanese UTI Committee. These awards have been given at every International Congress of Chemotherapy since 1995.



The 12th presentation of the award (US $ 1,500) will cover the years 2015 and 2016, and will be awarded during the 30th ICC. The names of the recipients will be published in the Final Congress Programme, ISAC Newsletter and ISAC website.

Nomination Procedure

The successful paper will be selected on the basis of originality of the idea, study design and importance in the care of patients. Papers, including an English version, should be sent electronically to Professor Florian Wagenlehner ( chair of the ISAC UTI Working Group by the deadline of 31st May 2017.

2017 Awardees

Ildikó Gagyor and Jutta Bleidorn

12th Award

This year’s recipients are Ildikó Gagyor (left) and Jutta Bleidorn (right) (Germany) for the publication: Ibuprofen versus fosfomycin for uncomplicated urinary tract infection in women: randomised controlled trial.

British Medical Journal 2015